Spread the Love

10 Feb

I got a couple of emails asking for creative date and gift ideas for Valentine’s Day. I was drawing a blank for the longest time. It’s difficult to come up with something fun and new when I follow this amazing blog that does all the thinking for me – The Dating Divas.

At their blog, you may find cute ways to make your man feel special- like this:

If you’re into card making (and who isn’t on Valentine’s Day?!), here’s a super cute idea

Or browse around their Romantic Rendezvous section to find a perfect date night for you and your hubby. The divas provide printouts for a lot of the dates and crafts so you really don’t have to spend much time making what you’ll need. These are quick and easy!

Like I said, I was just drawing blanks. I’m not feeling very creative! I stressed over what I would do for Captain J. He really is so hard to buy for because if he wants something- he just gets it himself. I really have to concentrate to be thoughtful! ha. Anyway, as I mentioned yesterday, Captain J and I are spending a romantic weekend in Savannah for Valentine’s Day so we didn’t want to spend too much on gifts. I decided I would get him a few small things to let him know I was thinking of him:

This, he’ll love. Because our Alaska fishing supplies won’t really be efficient here in the south, I decided to update his tackle box. I bought a cheap container and filled it with lures that I thought might be helpful. Now, he might be headed back to the store for something totally different, but it’s the thought that counts, right? I don’t know what happened to using live bait or food, but whatever! I included the receipt in case he might want to exchange.

I used rubber stamps on a lot of these gifts because my cricut bit the dust. I’m really annoyed with it! It just stopped cutting. Has this happened to any of you? It goes through the motions but the blade doesn’t extend. What a time for it not to work! Hmf!

The next crafty idea I cannot take credit for.

I got ideas from this “Bottle of Love” project found here:

For Captain J’s bottle, I used pink and red starbursts and pink and red kisses. He’s not into sweets so I’m guessing he’ll share the chocolate with me and he’ll take over the chewy fruity treats!

I also wrapped up a few other treats-

The kiss me package is cherry chapstick. I provided a ring (pop) because I know he’s going to want me to marry him all over again after I give him fishing supplies for Valentine’s Day.

And there you have it! I plan on buying a few other practical items to slip into the bag (Isn’t that bag too cute? I got it on clearance for 77 cents!) and also making his Valentine card, but I haven’t done that yet. This is all I’ve got so far. Anyone have any bag stuffer suggestions? I’d be all ears.

For more tutorials visit Erratically Elizabeth’s post Tutorial Tuesdays.

Thanks for viewing! I hope these links help. Spread the love!

XOXO,

4 Responses to “Spread the Love”

  1. Sarah February 10, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    cute ideas! I don’t think GR and I have spent a valentine’s day together yet! 😦 That stinks about your cricut! Maybe you can get new blades? Or call the company and tell them what happened?

    • Mrs. K February 11, 2011 at 8:55 am #

      boo 😦 that’s terrible! We’ve been lucky. We only missed the one valentine’s day, but we had a nice skype date and opened gifts together so it wasn’t so bad. Yes, I’m going to call the company and see what they have to say!

  2. David Weigle February 11, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Bag o’ beer (assorted imports and mircobrews – none of that girly light, fruity, or spiced stuff)

Leave a comment